Webinar: Zika Virus and Your Eyes, Hosted by the Coalition to Prevent Blindness, October 18

WEBINAR: Zika Virus and Your Eyes

Wednesday, October 18, 2017 at 11:30 am Pacific / 12:30 pm Mountain / 1:30 pm Central / 2:30 pm Eastern

Duration: 1 hour

The Coalition to Prevent Blindness invites you to join this webinar to learn about the Zika virus and how the Zika virus effects vision in babies whose mothers were infected with the virus during pregnancy and infants diagnosed with congenital Zika syndrome. In addition, the presenters will discuss how professionals working with expectant mothers and parents of babies with congenital Zika syndrome can provide direct support and increase access to supportive services for vision impairment and low vision services. Information provided in this presentation will be helpful to health care and public health professionals, family health information centers, and early intervention specialists in the United States.

Moderated by:

Laura Anderko, PhD, RN

Robert and Kathleen Scanlon Endowed Chair in Values Based Health Care

Director of the Mid-Atlantic Center for Children's Health and the Environment, & Professor

Georgetown University

Chair, National Center for Children's Vision and Eye Health

Scheduled speakers:

Emily Petersen, MD

Pregnancy and Birth Defects Task Force

CDC Zika Virus Response

U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Grace Prakalapakorn, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology and Pediatrics

Duke University 

David J Schonfeld, MD, FAAP

Professor of the Practice in the Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work and Pediatrics

University of Southern California and Children's Hospital Los Angeles

Director, National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement

Rebecca Sheffield, PhD

Senior Policy Researcher

American Foundation for the Blind

Register today at: www.preventblindness.org/webinar-registration

Recent Stories
Webinar: Zika Virus and Your Eyes, Hosted by the Coalition to Prevent Blindness, October 18

FASEB Webinar - Value of Federally Funded Biological Research, October 11 at 2 pm ET

Invitation to 2017 Annual MARTA Meeting, October 12-13, 2017