Call for Awards Nominations

The Awards Committee is seeking nominations for three prestigious awards that will be presented at the our 60th Annual Meeting next June in Charleston, South Carolina. Please take a moment to think about who has made an impact on you, on the Society, and on the field, and submit nominations to Suzanne Fenton, PhD, Awards Committee Chair ( by December 31.

F. Clarke Fraser New Investigator Award

This award honors F. Clarke Fraser, one of the founding members of the Society, for his many contributions to the field of developmental toxicology. The award is presented during the annual meeting where the awardee will give a presentation related to his/her research. It is intended that the presentation will serve as a demonstration to pre- and postdoctoral students of the development of an independent career in birth defects research.  

Eligibility Requirements and Details

Edward W. Carney Distinguished Service Award

This award honors Past President Edward W. Carney for his exemplary dedication and service to the Society and the field. The Edward W. Carney Distinguished Service Award will recognize an individual who has provided distinguished service to the Society. 

Eligibility Requirements and Details

Patricia Rodier Mid-Career Award in Research and Mentoring

Jointly sponsored with the Developmental Neurotoxicology Society, this award honors the legacy of Dr. Patricia Rodier. This award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated an independent mid-career research in neurobehavioral teratology, birth defects, or other related fields and a commitment to mentorship of students, postdoctoral fellows, young investigators, and/or trainees.  

Eligibility Requirements and Details

Nominations for these awards may be emailed to Suzanne Fenton, PhD, Awards Committee Chair ( by December 31.

2019-2020 Awards Committee

Suzanne E. Fenton, PhD, Chair 
Philip Lupo, PhD, MPH, Vice Chair 
Kembra L. Howdeshell, MS, PhD, Member 
Christopher Lau, PhD, Member 
Alexander R. Moise, PhD, Member 
Evi Struble, PhD, Member 
Rahat Wadhwa Desai, PhD, MPH, BDS, Member 
Bruce K. Beyer, PhD, DABT, Ad Hoc 
Sarah Davis, Ad Hoc
Bevin Blake, Ad Hoc, Student
Nicole Churchill Kleinstreuer, PhD, Past Chair

Recent Stories
Webinar: Computational and Biotechnology Approaches to Predict Developmental Toxicity--Sept. 24 at 11 AM Eastern

Society Vice President Report from Joint ICPF-JTS Meeting, July 26-29, 2019, in Nagoya, Japan

Congressional Briefing: A Healthy Start for Every Child: How the Environment Influences Health & Development