Melissa S. Tassinari, PhD, Receives Narsingh Agnish Fellowship


Congratulations to Melissa S. Tassinari, PhD, DABT, recipient of the Narsingh Agnish Fellowship! Dr. Tassinari is currently a Senior Clinical Analyst, Pediatric & Maternal Health Staff, Office of New Drugs in the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's Center for Drug Evaluation and Research.

The Agnish Fellowship is awarded to a senior member of the Teratology Society who has made a major contribution to education in the field of teratology or a related discipline. This Fellowship was established to recognize Dr. Narsingh Agnish's contributions to the Teratology Society, and particularly to the implementation of the Education Course.

“After I got over the term ‘senior member’ (realizing that I am now one), I can reflect on the role the Teratology Society has and continues to play in my life, professionally and personally,” said Dr. Tassinari. “I am honored to receive the Narsingh Agnish Fellowship named in recognition of a colleague who exemplified the commitment to education in our fields. Of the many things that membership in the Society has taught me, two are guiding principles; one, it is important that we all never stop learning and two, that we ‘pay it forward’ through teaching, mentorship, and advocacy.”

In addition to receiving her award, Dr. Tassinari will present a talk during the Teratology Society’s 55th Annual Meeting in Montreal. “I want to focus on the impact the Teratology Society, with all its related disciplines, has had on advancing the science described in pregnancy and lactation labeling and now that the Pregnancy and Lactation Labeling Rule is in place, how much more there is to do,” she said.

The 2015 Narsingh Agnish Fellowship and Lecture will take place on Saturday, June 27 at 8:10 am.

Learn more about all of the 2015 Teratology Society’s awards and recipients.


Recent Stories
Dr. Anthony Scialli named 2018 Agnish Fellowship

Dr. John DeSesso to give 2018 Warkany Lecture

Dr. Philip Lupo to receive 2018 F. Clarke Fraser New Investigator Award