Drs. Kimberly Brannen and Karen Augustine-Rauch Recognized with Distinguished Scholar Awards

Drs. Kimberly Brannen and Karen Augustine-Rauch Recognized with 

2015 Birth Defects Research Distinguished Scholar Awards


Congratulations to Karen Augustine-Rauch, PhD, and Kimberly Brannen, PhD, recipients of the 2015 Birth Defects Research Part B Distinguished Scholar Award! They’re honored for their research associated with development of a zebrafish embryo teratogenicity assay and the associated quantitative prediction model (reference paper: “Development of a zebrafish embryo teratogenicity assay and quantitative predictive model;” BDRB 89, 1: 66–77).

Dr. Augustine-Rauch is a Research Fellow in reproductive toxicology at Bristol-Myers Squibb. She has served as a Teratology Society Councilor in the past. Dr. Brannen is a Senior Scientist at Charles River Laboratories and currently serves as the Teratology Society’s Education Committee Secretary. Additionally, she is Co-Chair of the Webinar Subcommittee.

The award recognizes distinguished authors for the importance, impact, and relevance of their published works in the field of birth defects research. The dual purpose of the award is to provide recognition to the authors of high impact papers and to encourage authors trained in various disciplines to submit high quality papers to Birth Defects Research Part B.

Dr. Augustine-Rauch said she’s proud of the contribution this paper has made to the field of teratology. “This was one of the first studies that presented detailed methods optimization/development data and pilot performance of a set of definitive teratogenic and non-teratogenic pharmaceutical agents,” she explained. “From a validation standpoint, the study was still a work in progress but it laid the foundation of a basic protocol for others to follow, then improve and expand performance testing,” she added.

Dr. Brannen, an active Teratology Society member since 1999, says not only is the award an honor, but a way of contributing to the support the Teratology Society has provided her over the years . “The Teratology Society, for me, has been a consistent source of education, scientific community, and support since I was a graduate student,” she said.

Dr. Augustine-Rauch couldn’t agree more. “Continual engagement with Society members has led to continual scientific interaction in the teratology area, which is great because I just love this field of research,” she added.

For more information on becoming a Teratology Society member, check out the online membership brochure or go straight to the online membership form.


Read more about all of the 2015 Teratology Society’s awards and recipients.


Recent Stories
Dr. Anthony Scialli named 2018 Agnish Fellowship

Dr. John DeSesso to give 2018 Warkany Lecture

Dr. Philip Lupo to receive 2018 F. Clarke Fraser New Investigator Award