Deirdre K. Tucker, Predoctoral Fellow, Recognized with 2016 Edward W. Carney Trainee Award


Congratulations to Deirdre K. Tucker, a University of North Carolina graduate student with the National Toxicology Program at the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, who has been recognized with the 2016 Edward W. Carney Trainee Award! The Edward W. Carney Trainee Award encourages education and training in reproductive and developmental toxicology.

Ms. Tucker, an active Teratology Society student member since 2014 who has served on the Membership Committee, was selected based on the scientific quality of her abstract, “Increased Susceptibility to Mammary Carcinogenesis following a Prenatal Exposure to BPA Analogs,“ its overall impact to the fields of reproductive and developmental toxicology or teratology, and her career goals in these fields. The award will support Ms. Tucker’s travel to the Teratology Society’s 56th Annual Meeting

Ms. Tucker noted in her application that her reporting is the first of its kind for the chemicals examined. “I have demonstrated that an early life exposure to either BPAF (5 mg) or BPS (0.5 mg) in CD-1 mice have resulted in an increased incidence of hyperplastic, inflammatory, and preneoplastic lesions in mammary gland whole mounts and histopathology at 8 and 14 months,” she explained. This suggests that this early exposure may have shifted the critical windows of susceptibility and predisposed the gland to developing these lesions later in life.”

Describing Ms. Tucker’s work ethic and dedication to the field, Dr. Suzanne Fenton, a Teratology Society member since 2011, said “she is a hard-working, multi-tasking researcher and she is a great leader and teacher.”

Ms. Tucker will present her abstract during Poster Session 2 on Tuesday, June 28, 2016 at the Teratology Society's 56th Annual Meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

Read more about:


Recent Stories
Dr. Anthony Scialli named 2018 Agnish Fellowship

Dr. John DeSesso to give 2018 Warkany Lecture

Dr. Philip Lupo to receive 2018 F. Clarke Fraser New Investigator Award